Final Online Giveaway: $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook

recipesIf you rely on fast food to feed your family because it is cheap and convenient, have we got a cookbook for you. Author Erin Chase shows you how to cook delicious and inexpensive food all for under $5 in The $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook.” To win one of two signed copies we are giving away, see below.

Chase, who blogs at $5 dollar dinners , has shared her savvy cooking tips on national TV shows including The View and The Rachel Ray Show. She began blogging after taking on the challenge of reducing her family’s grocery spending. She writes:

It became my “job” to create and execute a plan in which I spent less of my husband’s hard-earned money. I considered the amount saved each week at the store to be like my earning. That summer, I implemented a number of strategies to help me save more money at the grocery store. I found great pleasure and felt fulfilled spending less at the store, putting coupons to use, and having a plan for dinner each week.

In the cookbook, Chase teaches you about strategic grocery shopping, couponing, and meal planning. She includes 200 recipes of nutritious meals with cost breakdowns and frugal facts. The recipes are for a family of four, but you can double them depending on how many mouths there are to feed. Feeding your family well-balanced meals for less is a possibility!

If you’d like to win a copy of “The $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook” leave a comment letting us know what your go-to weeknight meal is. Winners will be revealed tomorrow, June 22. You can also win one of 8 copies we are giving away as door prizes at Frugal Festival Food! on June 25 in LA or purchase the book on Amazon for $9.86.

28 responses to “Final Online Giveaway: $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook

  1. When we have a busy weeknight with little time to plan or cook we say it’s a huevo night, because we usually make Huevos Rancheros. It’s quick, inexpensive and versatile. I scramble or fry the eggs depending on what my husband feels like eating. I heat up or mash up canned beans from the cupboard, black or pinto work best. I usually add some sort of veggie chopped and sauteed (whatever is in the fridge or garden): onion, bell pepper, jalepenos, mushrooms, zucchini, garlic, tomato. You can top with your favorite salsa, guacamole, canned green chiles, cheese or whatever else you have around. If you’re a meat eater you could probably add ground beef or sausage too.

  2. Wonderful post thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading it very much. Food and recipes are something I enjoy sharing very much.

    I recommend you check out this great recipe also:

    Baked Apple Pie

  3. My go-to weeknight dinner is some sort of pasta: spaghetti, capellini, fettucine, etc. with my homemade spicy pasta sauce that I always have on hand, a little cheese grated on top, crusty French bread or garlic toast, and a salad or side of veggies. Quick and pretty inexpensive and always yummy!

  4. Various soups. They’re cheap using fresh veggies from the local “dollar store”. You can get meat/broth/rice on sale. Only costs about $1/serving. A “hearty” soup” can be very filling/quick to make. And they can be “clean out the pantry” types of dishes.

  5. Our go to meal is tuna casserole or chicken casserole if there is left over chicken is the fridge. It can be stretched if necessary to feed everyone who happens to land at our house at dinner time.

  6. Christine Judd

    Pizza Pizza Pizza, We get a frozen pizza with bag salad as the side with dressing included. Runs about $8.50. Divide the $8.50 by three people in my family and its about $2.83 per person. Its quick, cheap and salad is the filler..

  7. Ellen Beckwith

    Our go to meal is tuna melts which we actually had last night. Also any kind of quesidilla made with cold cuts, leftovers, and add cheese, or just all types of cheeses.
    Can be individually tailored to each persons likes.

  8. I have two “Go To” meals that I return to constantly…spaghetti and tacos! Everyone in my family loves them and they are inexpensive and quick! The cookbook sounds great, I could use some new inexpensive ideas!!

  9. We like chicken salad, especially in the summer. In the winter it is more like chicken stew.
    Another one is sloppy joes.

  10. tacos…nice and easy

  11. Turkey Tacos would be my family’s fav…I always have ground turkey in the freezer, and taco shells in the pantry…no need to buy a season envelope, just use s&p, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes w/ some water and there you have it,…add your lettuce, cheese, and toppings and its quick and easy, and my family eats it up!

  12. I usually have a salad and a grilled meat. I grill different kinds of meat once or twice a week – pork, beef, chicken – and cut them up in the proper portions. This way I still have some variety and a choice for dinner. And it’s healthier and saves time – and money!

    I also have a few varieties of frozen fish that can be cooked in 20 minutes or less.

  13. my go to meal- esp in the summer when we have our own garden is “Taco Fajitas” a combo of both- basically I add cooked bell peppers/onions from the garden to our reg taco stuff. kids love it.

  14. My go-to meal is usually some sort of stir-fry.
    Other than prepping the ingredients (chopping meat & veggies) it cooks super fast so it gets ready fast.
    And when I’m planning ahead I can even chop the stuff the night before so all I have to do is toss it into the wok!

  15. Being a working dad with a wife who works late my go-to dinner is beef tacos. Prepping tacos if great and my 4 year old daughter loves to help grate the cheese and put the toppings in bowls in preparation for fill the tortillas. She also can make the tacos any way she wants!!!! It’s quick, easy and clean up is a breeze.. Plus they are so tasty!!!

  16. My go-to meal when I don’t have time to cook is spaghetti and meatballs. I put in a little bit of brown sugar to sweeten the sauce. My family loves it!

  17. I need to learn some quick on the go meals. My quick meals are simple peanut butter & jelly sandwiches with slices fruit for the kids, or instant noodles soups.

  18. Oh my gosh.. you’ll laugh. When my budget it tight, my quick go-to meals are the following, and yes they are seasonal:

    In the spring/summer – Watermelon! – I cut a watermelon in half (which of course is purchased while on-sale), dice it and have it for dinner. it’s refreshing, CHEAP and healthy — and I don’t have to worry about dessert, because it cures that craving too. Cost — about $0.95 for the entire meal :).

    And then when it’s cold outside — my budget friendly dinner includes breakfast — scrambled eggs, or pancakes. Again, less than $1/serving.

    Both are yummy options and I can’t go wrong 🙂

  19. My go-to dinner is my turkey-rice meal. I cook up a # of ground turkey with lots of chopped onion. Drain any fat juices from that and then add in 1.5 cups of white rice, some chicken bouillon, ground mustard and 1 cup of water. Bring that to a boil and then simmer for 15 minutes. When that is done I add on top a chopped green (or red) pepper, a chopped tomato and several slices of American cheese. I let the cheese melt for about 5 minutes and then serve. Yummy and great left over.

  20. Shannon Bennett

    My quick, cheap, yummy go to meal is Quiche.I know it is not really a dinner item for most, but i break the rules 🙂 I try to always have a pie crust in the freezer and pretty much anything goes for quiche. It is great with meat, seafood, veggie or just cheese. Plus, it is a great meal to clean out the fridge with!

  21. Hello: Our go-to $5 meal is chicken and roasted vegetables. The vegetables are easy to make and really good – drizzle a little olive oil over your favorite vegetables, put a little sea salt on them, hand mix to distribute oil and salt and cook in the oven at 400 degrees. Vegetables should be in a single layer. Very healthy.

  22. My go-to meal is burrito bar. some kids like egg burritos, some just beans and rice… everyone can have exactly what they want and I don’t cook a million different things!

  23. Our go to meal is Brinner (breakfast for dinner)! We will have oatmeal, maltomeal, eggs or cold cereal! Its nice because everything is so quick! This meal works if we are running low on time or if our “planned” dinner didn’t turn out!

  24. I love to throw a chicken on the rotisserie & steam some vegetables & have baked potatoes on the side.

  25. Larry Weintraub

    Larry,

    My wife makes a dish that I call a mile of meat loaf. She makes it on Sunday and we eat it all week long. It is good but by the end of the week BORING.

  26. I make a few meals on the weekend and freeze them. During the week, I take a meal out of the freezer and cook it. Chicken soup, shepherd’s pie, enchiladas, and lasagna are some of my favorite make ahead meals.

  27. My family loves stromboli so I usually make at least 5 when I make them so we have some in the freezer and ready to pull out on a busy night.

  28. Breakfast for dinner – homemade waffles!

Leave a Reply

