Reader winners: Poor Girl Gourmet

Below you’ll find the names of the 5 lucky winners of Amy McCoy’s “Poor Girl Gourmet“!

If you missed my review, the 222-page cookbook is filled with traditional Italian recipes that McCoy has added her spin to. She introduces each recipe with money-saving tips and a back-story to how the recipe came about. McCoy’s mother had taught her all the tools to live a frugal life, but she didn’t implement the lessons until the economy tanked. She’s always had a love for good food and she began writing the Poor Girl Gourmet food blog.

I asked you to share the lessons you’d learned from your mother and this is what the winners said.

Carrie never left the table hungry.

My mom had to make poor girl gourmet meals! There were 4 kids, 3 boys and me! She could make 3 meals out of a whole roasted chicken, for all 6 of us plus have enough from the ‘pickings’ to make chicken salad for lunch!

Pam was influenced by her grandmother.

My mother died when I was 12 so it was my grandma who influenced me. I cook just like her. No written recipes, all in my head. A little of this a little that. Problem is I can’t hardly recreate a fantastic recipe because it’s not written down.

Kelli learned to cook from her mother and grandmother.

My mother was a single working mom so money was always a bit tight for us. She and my grandmother taught me to cook and bake using up whatever is in the pantry which still rings very true in today’s economy! They also taught me that food doesn’t have to be expensive or fancy to be delicious. They have simple recipes that are filling, hearty, and tasty.

Susan Gayle learned to cook from scratch from her mother.

My Mom grew up rural poor in the Midwest, so she came from a place where the only way to eat was from scratch and ‘putting up’ veggies from the garden for winter. Luckily, I was able to learn all the basics from her, so I had a great grounding later when I expanded my food horizons beyond my Midwestern roots.

Kay learned sustainable living from her parents.

As the daughter of “depression era children” I learned about sustainable living before it was trendy. Buy/eat what it is in season and grown locally. Eggs from the local farmer, produce from the garden or stand by the road. Fresh is best! Can/freeze what you have in excess. Mom and Dad shared the local goodness.

Winners, I hope the book helps you build upon the skills that you learned from family members. Send me an email with the address so I can send you the “Poor Girl Gourmet” book.

If you didn’t win this time, check out today’s giveaway of “Vegan on the Cheap” for another change to win! You can buy “Poor Girl Gourmet” on Amazon for $10.78 or win one of 20 copies that will be given away as door prizes at the Festival in LA on June 25.

One response to “Reader winners: Poor Girl Gourmet

  1. Pingback: Bargain Babe» Today’s winners + New cookbook giveaway + Food preserving demo

Leave a Reply

